Paraplegic man stands, steps with assistance and moves his legs voluntarily

A team of scientists at UCLA, the University of Louisville, and Cal Tech has achieved a significant breakthrough in its initial work with a paralyzed male volunteer — the result of 30 years of research to find potential clinical therapies for paralysis.

Three College students receive humanitarian awards for volunteer efforts

Jonathan Ditty, Gabriel Gomez, and Andrew Kaddis were honored with the 2011 Charles E. Young Humanitarian Award for their outstanding commitment to public service.

Three College professors elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Geochemist T. Mark Harrison, molecular biologist Steven Jacobsen, and astronomer Edward L. Wright have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest honors awarded to a scientist in the United States.