Portrait of Abel Valenzuela

Abel Valenzuela Jr. to serve as interim dean of UCLA’s division of social sciences

Beginning Sept. 1, 2022, Abel Valenzuela Jr. — professor…
Image of Anya Dani
Group image of Miguel García-Garibay, dean of the UCLA Division of Physical Sciences; Steven Chu, Stanford’s William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of Physics and Professor of Molecular and Cellular Physiology, winner of the 1997 Nobel Prize in Physics and U.S. Secretary of Energy from 2009-2013; Mani L. Bhaumik, Institute founder, physicist and philanthropist; David Gross, UCSB’s Chancellor’s Chair Professor of Theoretical Physics at the Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics and winner of the 2004 Nobel Prize in Physics; Andrea Ghez, UCLA's Lauren B. Leichtman & Arthur E. Levine Chair in Astrophysics and winner of the 2020 Nobel Prize in Physics; Gene D. Block, UCLA Chancellor; and Zvi Bern, director of the Mani L. Bhaumik Institute.

Celebrating the fifth anniversary of the Mani L. Bhaumik Institute for Theoretical Physics

Jonathan Riggs | July 28, 2022 "I believe in one thing,”…

$1.2 million from Kachigian family trust establishes UCLA lectureship in Armenian studies

Armenian language scholar Hagop Kouloujian has been appointed…
Photo of Christopher, a white genderqueer man with short brown hair, small-framed glasses, a white t-shirt, and a black bomber jacket with a trans pride pin, smiles to the camera in front of a lavender background.

Finding himself at the intersection of communication and disability studies

Activist, advocate and artist Christopher Ikonomou looks ahead…

Darnell Hunt named executive vice chancellor and provost

The longtime campus leader will become UCLA’s chief academic…
Image of stars and galaxies
Image of a microscope in front of a mirror showing a loaf of bread, reflecting a major in science and minor in food studies.
Image of chocolate on a purple background
Image of colorful fruits and vegetables